Search Tool
Your cart is empty

Tour of the Sulcis-Iglesiente Area in Holiday Farm

Carbonia - Sant'Antioco - Nebida - Santadi - Porto Pino

Contact Us

South West Sardinia

Private Tour of the Sulcis and Iglesias area
Sant'Antioco Island - the Dunes of Porto Pino - the Mines of Carbonia and Porto Flavia - the cozy towns of Calasetta and Iglesias

6 days tour in the area of Sulcis – Iglesiente
A tour focused on its treasures of historical interest and coastal splendours

1° day – Cagliari - Tratalias - Arrival at Cagliari airport and private transfer to the small village of Tratalias, located not fare from the town of Carbonia and Sant’Antioco Island. According to the arrival, time a leisure for relax or for a first bike-tour of the surroundings. Dinner at the Hotel.
2° day – Carbonia Great Coal Mine of Serbariu - Full board at the Hotel. Morning at disposal for relax or for a bike-tour to Old-Tratalias. The buildings of the original and ancient village have been heavily damaged and abandoned after the construction of the dam on the Rio Palmas and the subsequent creation of the artificial Lake of Monte Pranu. Now the ghost village still preserves the cathedral of Santa Maria di Monserrato, built between 1212 and 1282. In the afternoon departure with private service to the Great Coal Mine of Serbariu in Carbonia with the visit of the underground gallery and the museum. Following, time at leisure for a break at Carbonia downtown.
3° day – Sant'Antioco and Calasetta - Full day excursion by car and private driver to the island of Sant’Antioco. The town was founded by the Phoenicians and later conquered by the Carthaginians. The morning is dedicated to the visit of the Catacombs in the Basilica, the archaeological site of the Tophet and the Necropolis. In the afternoon we go on with a panoramic view of the island and the visit of the second town of the island named Calasetta, with its white houses and the spectacular blue sea. Time available for a stroll and shopping. Return at the Hotel, dinner and overnight.
4° day - Nebia - Porto Flavia - Iglesias - Departure after breakfast towards north to the scenic area of Iglesias and Nebida for the visit of the futuristic work on the promontory of Masua, actually a port built in 1922-1924 at 37 meters height serving as the mineral production hub in the west coast of Sardinia and its tormented sea. Today, the site belongs to the mining archaeology and visited with guided Tours. The entrance overlooks the sea and faces the Pan di Zucchero, a natural monument 132 meters high, shaped by the power of the wind and the sea. At the end of the 1 hour visit, transfer to the Mine of S. Giovanni for the visit of the Grotte di Santa Barbara 1.30hrs. In 1952, during a shaft excavation and tearing down a rock wall, the mine workers discovered the spectacular view of a magnificent extended natural cavity. The Cave, remembering a sumptuous Cathedral, has remained unknown for millions of year sheltered in the heart of the mountain. In the noon transfer to the town of Iglesias, church in Spanish, and known as the city of the 100 churches as every street of the old town has his own church. Time at leisure for lunch and explore the castle of Salvaterra and enjoy the historical centre with the ArtNouveau-styled façades rich in decorative features. Return in the late afternoon to the hotel. Dinner and overnight.
5° day – Santadi - Porto Pino - Today we explore the internal area and the south of the Sulcis Region. After breakfast departure to the village of Santadi, surrounded by woods and vineyards reaching international fame for its red Wine Carignano del Sulcis. Very appreciated for its olive oil, high quality cheese, honey, a variety of different typical bred and Sardinian sweets and for the historical importance of the area. Sheltered by century-old olive trees in an extraordinary environmental context of the hill of Pani Loriga, the archaeological area hosts 6000 years of history and findings dated from the Neolithic, the Nuragic, Phoenician and Punic and later also from the Roman Era. Guided walking tour through the area among Nurage, Domus de Janas (antique tombs) from the Nuragic Period and over 150 burial chambers from the Phoenicians. Transfer to Santadi for a break and if time available a short visit of the museum. Before noon the tour goes on to the Zuddas Caves, a splendid underground setting unique in the world. After the visit lunch at the restaurant included. In the afternoon transfer to Porto Pino. Crystalline waters and tall white dunes, one kilometre of soft sandy hills reaching up to 3 meters height. Time at leisure to explore the area. Return before evening to the hotel. Dinner and overnight.
6° Day – Departure - Breakfast at the Hotel. According to flight departure transfer to Cagliari airport.

* Accommodation in Agritourism Holiday Farm
* 5 Dinner at the Hotel, 1 Lunch at the Restaurant 
* Bike hire 
* Transfer and Excursion in Minivan and private driver
* Guided visits (english) at the  the Great Coal Mine, Porto Flavia, Santadi archaeological site of Pani Loriga, Zuddas Caves, Sant'Antioco archaeological site
* Entrance fees at the Zuddas Caves

Rate per person based on 4 person in 2 double rooms:
15/07 - 15/09 € 825
16/09 - 30/11 € 782

entrance fees to be paid on spot € 58 per person